poem of the day: In Those Days We Lived On Selling Newspapers by Tatjana Gromača

In Those Days We Lived On Selling Newspapers

Tatjana Gromača  (link)

There were happy days then
when I’d sell them all in a few hours.
Then with a bag full of money
I’d run back to my rented room
with a view of slum balconies and yards
and empty its dirty contents onto my bed
with naked Venus pictured on the blanket.
I’d sit with my legs crossed
and contented, like a robber
whose job had been well done,
drink a carton of cold milk
to soothe my dry throat filled with exhaust fumes
while counting slowly my thirty percent earnings.

4 thoughts on “poem of the day: In Those Days We Lived On Selling Newspapers by Tatjana Gromača

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    I hope your readers follow the link. The background of the poet is very interesting (and brief).

  2. yeltnuh says:

    Me, too, Teresa! I try for the best author link each day, but feel no confidence is my ability to assess potted biographies. 🙂

  3. Dalva says:

    Thanks for the link.Tatjana’s Venus blanket sounds very familiar.

Please leave a reply

