Bloomsday countdown: Joyce sends me back to Homer

One thing about Joyce’s Ulysses that I especially like is the way he rewrites and parodies Homer’s Odysseus. To me, parody is not a kind of denigration: to me, it is a way to pay homage to the original source.

Ergo, today I mimic the Joycean gesture and hope some of you will accompany me. Come, my friends, ‘Tis not too late to seek a newer world.

(small wonder that we love(d) Star Trek: hear the echoes?)

p.s. Now you know why reading and writing matter so much: it is one way to change the world.

9 thoughts on “Bloomsday countdown: Joyce sends me back to Homer

  1. What a brilliant combination! I’m more of a Babylon 5 aficionado, rather than Star Trek, but Gielgud, Tennyson, and The Planets had me boldy going. The whole thing is ridiculously inspiring.

  2. yeltnuh says:

    I haven’t posted it, but do you know this? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgJ4qYP44Rk

  3. yeltnuh says:

    Sometimes my nerdiness amazes me. 😀

  4. Judith Post says:

    I love the story of Odysseus. All the adventures and fantasy destinations and creatures. They crop up in a lot of my novels and stories. But they crop up even more in the boys’ movies and cartoons.

Please leave a reply

