(poem of the day) ‘The Pretense of Cool’ by Hima Raza

The Pretence of Cool

Hima Raza


imperial designs (plus)
colonial practice (equals)
a new ‘civilizing mission’
(encased in) sanctimonious shades
of red, white and blue,
converting ‘rogue’ nations
to ‘frontline states’ –
we live the power games
of faraway masters.


in a black hole
where blood is cheap
and lies come true,
virtue is a pie in the sky.


it’s a good thing I’m used to this;
the process of shutting things out
as they fall apart,
the pretence of cool
in a dry, hot season,
the taste of redemption
in a t.v. screen


if God had a voice

what would it say?

A jet of particles is being emitted from the c...

A jet of particles is being emitted from the core of the elliptical radio galaxy M87. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

4 thoughts on “(poem of the day) ‘The Pretense of Cool’ by Hima Raza

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    it’s a good thing I’m used to this;
    the process of shutting things out
    as they fall apart,
    the pretence of cool
    in a dry, hot season,
    the taste of redemption
    in a t.v. screen
    THIS IS A VERY PROVOCATIVE POEM–much to ponder. Thanks.

    • pendantry says:

      Provocative, indeed. We could do with more such, I think!

      Not so sure about the choice of attendant image… can’t quite catch how that ties in… ‘God’s voice,’ perhaps? But if so, what is he saying? Ah, silly me, we can’t possibly know, and anyway He’s not speaking to us after all (we’re insignificant, despite our beliefs to the contrary)… and yet it does speak to me. It’s a beautiful picture; well chosen! 🙂

      • yeltnuh says:

        I’m not sure about the image either, but I selected it intuitively. Of course, my poetry selections aren’t deliberate either–or not consciously so. My only criterion is that I spend only 5-10 minutes to make a decision (decision making is a weakness, so I am trying to trick myself into being a bit quicker, hahaha).

  2. yeltnuh says:

    Yes, I agree. I like to return to the poems I pick to re-focus.

Please leave a reply

